Posted by: Team McSlade | April 4, 2010

Correct me if I’m wrong

Part two:
Just a brief note before regaling you – the avid reader – with more of our diatribe of madness. It seems there is dissent in the ranks of Team McSlade; a mutiny of sorts. As The Scribe, I (Ryan) have apparently been remiss of a few facts, thus the trio of judges in the cheap seats have decided to give me the call of, “Well, you could said this..” or “No, it’s good, but..”
I take my gig seriously, (well at least I try and keep the narrative flowing and the laughs coming), yet it appears that I have not come up trumps.
So to make up for this, I feel I must add the following facts:
               – When we left Cambrils it was 22° and when we arrived in Andorra, only 3°
               – As we headed from Andorra to the Col du Tormulat, the car informed us that it was -3° and there was a ‘Risk of Ice’
               – I will have this proof read, vetted and re-checked for any omissions, mistakes or glaring holes.

Back to the real Part Two.

‘Lost in Toulouse’ – Why we drove into this town I have no idea. Having not heard of or looked up anything of note in Toulouse, we still thought it wise to head into town. Mistake #1.
We did a hot lap, found neither the tourist info office or a park for the car, saw some antiques being sold in a park (and wished we could fit a grandfather clock into the Peugeot), then decided to bail. Not wanting to pay tolls, we opted for the non-toll road.
My eyesight isn’t great, and as I fought 4 lanes of French drivers, Jo pointed out the exit for Agen, I did not make the turn. Mistake #2.
Heading for the toll road the next available exit was taken, surely I could just whip a U-bolt and be heading back to where we came from. Mistake #3.
Another highway, 5 clicks and a wife’s angry glare later, I was at least going towards where we wanted to be.
“Look Jo, there’s the turn to Agen, winner, I’ll go that way.” Somehow, I was back on the road to the toll road. Mistake #4.
Another U-turn and finally we get to the next section…

‘I hate Gabacho Roads’ –  ‘Gabacho’ comes from my Spanish/English dictionary. I have mentioned to Dad the political incorrectness of this entry. Gabacho is ‘Frenchman; Froggie’ in English.
I showed this to Maria in the International Office at the Uni and asked what it meant. She said it was nonsensical and I asked if I said it to a Frenchman would he hit me? She said it depended on the tone I used. (Mental note, don’t call a Frenchman ‘gabacho’.)
She asked about Froggie and I said it was because the French are frogs, you know, oui, oui, ‘allo,’allo (making a stereotypical French laughing sound).
Confusion reigned supreme that day.
So with a new ‘term of endearment’ in the vernacular, I have come to loath the French rural roads. A max speed of 90 is allowed, yet with about 4km between each town on average, you really can’t wind it out in top gear. Add to this, if Pepé is turning left and his mate, Pierre, happens to be coming along in the opposite direction, you need to unload the anchors and stop in these towns. Wonderful, 300kms has now taken me 6 hours to drive (please add another hour for the ‘Toulouse Debacle’).

‘Garorock in Marmande’ – After arriving and getting set in our cabin/chalet, the next day we rolled out into the French Countryside and found a festival of sorts in the woodlands outside of Marmande. The rain has been a patchy visitor here, but it seems enough has fallen to allow the hordes at Garorock to chew up the grass and coat the bottom half of their trousers in mud. Festival goers were looking at us a bit funny, not sure if it was the fact that we were not covered in mud; the kids were the youngest people there; or that both kids were wearing shorts on a 12° rainy day.
Still, we had a brief look, decided the mud was only getting worse and the doof coming from the background was not appealing to us. Apparently Pendulum, De La Soul and Sepultura were headline acts.

We’ve got another week here in France, so more stories of cheese, baguettes and French stuff to follow.

Au Revoir.

Responses

  1. Now I know what Pat means when he say’s “camper than a row of tents” – thanks for the visual aid 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

